Tom O'Connor

tom oconnor head photo.jpg

Tom O'Connor

semi-retired journalist and political commentator with an interest in New Zealand military history. 

Tom writes a weekly political commentary for the Waikato Times. He previously wrote a history column for the Waikato Times and a Political commentary for the Taranaki Daily News which focussed on the New Zealand Land Wars.

His published works include;

Death of a Cruise Ship, the story of the loss of the Mikhail Lermontov in the Marlborough Sounds in 1986.

A series of three historic novels on the life of Te Rauparaha.

Bunty Preece, soldier of 28 (Maori) Battalion

The Ferret, Sergeant Eric Batchelor DCM and bar, m.i.d.

His latest work is titled "Irish Convict" is the story of an Irish convict in Australia and New Zealand prior to 1840 based on several true stories. 

Tom lives on a small farm near Timaru in South Canterbury and is an elected member of the Waimate District Council.


Sign up to be notified when books are reprinted.